Awards & Recognition

WLP Community Leadership Award

The USF Women in Leadership & Philanthropy (WLP) program honors visionary leaders and philanthropists throughout the community doing extraordinary things to make Tampa Bay a better place for women to live and work. With the Community Leadership Award, we showcase individual excellence in leadership as demonstrated by outstanding initiative, impact of work, and inspiration to others. We publicly affirm present achievements, seek to encourage further work on the part of the recipients, and hope to motivate others to follow their lead in service to the Tampa Bay communities.


The nominees and recipient are recognized at WLP's Annual Symposium on October 24, 2013

Nomination and Selection Process:

Recipient must be present at the WLP Fall Symposium to accept the award.

Download nomination form here. If you have questions, please contact Kelly Addington at or
(813) 974-6996.

WLP Community Leadership Award Recipients


Susan W. Leisner

Susan W. Leisneris a pioneer in helping achieve equality for women, starting with her lead role in a women’s rights case of national renown that bolstered her commitment to women’s issues when she moved to Hillsborough County more than 30 years ago. She has served on more than a dozen governing boards of not-for-profit organizations in Tampa Bay. Her community service and philanthropic leadership earned her the honor of Volunteer of the Year in Philanthropy by the Florida Suncoast Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals. She devoted 10 years of service as president of the Board of Managers of The Home Association, one of Hillsborough County’s oldest charities. She is a founding member of The Athena Society and was the first chairperson and longest standing member of the Hillsborough County Commission on the Status of Women and has served on the boards of University Community Hospital, The Spring of Tampa Bay and Town & Country Hospital.



Mona Jain, MD, PhD

Mona Jain, MD, PhD is a Fulbright and National Science Foundation scholar and medical doctor. She has been a teacher and administrator in American, British, and Indian systems of education since 1961. She is currently the chair of the Florida Commission on the Status of Women. Her professional affiliations include the American Public Health Association and the Indian Association of Biology Teachers. She was one of only 20 women in the nation to be honored with a community service award from the American Medical Women’s Association. She has lived with her family in Manatee and Sarasota counties for the past 40 years.



Carol D. Morsani

Carol D. Morsani is one of Tampa Bay’s well-known philanthropists and community leaders. She is the Director of the Frank and Carol Morsani Foundation, which supports education and the arts, and she is involved heavily with other community organizations. She is the founding chair of WLP, and she has received an honorary degree from USF


Pamela S. Muma

Pamela S. Muma has a long history of philanthropy within the Tampa Bay area. She serves on the TGH Hospital Board and the Moffitt Cancer Center Board of Directors. She is also actively involved with USF Health. Mrs. Muma is also a founding member of WLP.



Dr. Kay Glasser

Dr. Kay Glasser was the first recipient of the WLP Community Leadership Award. Dr. Glasser, who has served the Sarasota community for over 30 years, is the founder of the Glasser Schoebaum Center, which works to offer social services in a more efficient way. Her interests include at-risk youth, children's health initiatives, global education and foster care.